Rankings / Shopmonkey
Shopmonkey for Mobile Mechanics: Good in the Bay, Quiet on the Road
Shopmonkey gives a mechanic a real tech app and unlimited two-way texting on its $239 Basic plan, and decodes VINs, but it is repair shop software. It publishes no way to order a day of stops, no offline mode, and online booking is a $349 a month add-on that does not check a service area.
53.0 / 100, ranked #7 of 8. Mobile Service Sync scores 100.0. Best for: An independent repair shop that wants texting and a tech app in its first plan.
Shopmonkey in a Driveway
Shopmonkey for Techs runs on iPhone and Android on the Basic plan, and Basic includes unlimited two-way texting, which is more than most shop software puts in its first tier. A VIN decodes on Basic; plate lookup runs through CARFAX.
The road is where it goes quiet. Shopmonkey's mobile mechanic page names no routing, and its help center gives connection-speed recommendations rather than an offline mode. Inventory is counted per shop, from the $399 Clever plan, not per van.
Online booking lives in CRM Essentials, $349 a month on top of the plan. It caps bookings per day and per slot, but nothing in it holds a customer to your service area. Automatic review requests come with the $499 Genius plan or a $99 add-on.
Scored, Criterion by Criterion
Each line links to the Shopmonkey page that settles it, read November 7, 2026.
- Vehicle records with plate or VIN lookupIncludedVIN decode on Basic, plate lookup through CARFAX (source)
- Route optimizationNot statedMobile mechanic page names no routing (source)
- Technician app on iPhone and AndroidIncludedShopmonkey for Techs on iOS and Android, on Basic (source)
- Works with no signalNot statedOnly speed recommendations, no offline mode documented (source)
- Online booking that respects your area and capacityAdd-onCRM Essentials add-on, $349 a month, per day and per slot caps, no service area (source)
- Fleet accountsIncludedFleet accounts with payment terms and their own fees and rates (source)
- Two-way textingIncludedUnlimited two-way SMS on Basic (source)
- Automatic review requestsHigher planReviews Manager on Genius, $499 a month, or a $99 add-on (source)
- Stock counted per vanPartialPer shop only, from Clever at $399 a month (source)
- Published price, month to month, free trialNot metPrice published, term set by agreement, demo and no stated trial (source)
Shopmonkey Plans, as Published
- Basic: $239/mo, 3 users ($215/mo billed annually)
- Clever: $399/mo, 4 users ($359/mo billed annually)
- Genius: $499/mo, 5 users ($449/mo billed annually)
- Extra users $20/mo; one-time $500 data migration fee
- CRM Essentials (online booking, reviews, campaigns): $349/mo ($314 billed annually)
What a Mobile Mechanic Gets Instead
Mobile Service Sync starts at $49 rather than $239 and is built for the van: stops ordered by drive time in one click, an app that works with no signal, stock counted per van, booking held to your service area, and review requests after every job on every plan.
The full side by side is on Mobile Service Sync's site: Mobile Service Sync vs Shopmonkey.
Questions About Shopmonkey
- Is Shopmonkey good for mobile mechanics?
- Shopmonkey has a tech app and unlimited texting on its $239 Basic plan, but it is built for repair shops. It publishes no routing or offline mode, and its online booking is a $349 a month add-on with no service area check.
- How much does Shopmonkey cost?
- Basic is $239 a month with 3 users, Clever $399 with 4 and Genius $499 with 5, plus $20 a month per extra user and a one-time $500 data migration fee. CRM Essentials, which adds online booking, is $349 a month.