Mobile Mechanic Apps is published by Mobile Service Sync, which makes one of the products reviewed here. How we score.
Mobile Mechanic Apps

Rankings / Housecall Pro

Housecall Pro for Mobile Mechanics: A Strong App With No Car In It

Housecall Pro is the strongest home-service app here for a mobile mechanic: texting, review requests and service-area booking are on its $79 Basic plan. But its pages describe no customer vehicle record, route sequencing starts on the $189 Essentials plan, and offline is view-only.

64.0 / 100, ranked #2 of 8. Mobile Service Sync scores 100.0. Best for: HVAC, plumbing, electrical and other home-service crews.

Housecall Pro in a Driveway

Plenty works on the road. Housecall Pro's app is on iPhone and Android on every plan, customers book online inside the ZIP codes you serve, texts land in a shared inbox, and a review request goes out when a job is finished.

But the job has nowhere to put the car. Housecall Pro tracks equipment per property, and nothing on its site describes a customer vehicle or a plate lookup. Grouping and sequencing the day's jobs starts on Essentials at $189 a month, and reordering by drive time is on MAX at $329.

Offline, the app shows today and the next two days, view only. Its help center points to QuickBooks for inventory, and customer payment terms and PO numbers are still rolling out.

Scored, Criterion by Criterion

Each line links to the Housecall Pro page that settles it, read November 7, 2026.

  • Vehicle records with plate or VIN lookupNot statedequipment per property, no vehicle record named (source)
  • Route optimizationHigher planEssentials, $189/month, sequences jobs (source)
  • Technician app on iPhone and AndroidIncludediOS and Android on all plans (source)
  • Works with no signalPartialview only, today plus two days (source)
  • Online booking that respects your area and capacityIncludedon Basic, gated by service area zip codes (source)
  • Fleet accountsPartialPO field rolling out, net terms in alpha (source)
  • Two-way textingIncludedtexting number on all plans, replies to inbox (source)
  • Automatic review requestsIncludedsent automatically when a job is finished (source)
  • Stock counted per vanNot statedno built in inventory, help points to QuickBooks (source)
  • Published price, month to month, free trialIncludedpublished, month to month, 14 days no card (source)

Housecall Pro Plans, as Published

  • Basic: $79/mo, 1 user ($59/mo billed annually)
  • Essentials: $189/mo, 5 users ($149/mo billed annually), adds route grouping and sequencing
  • MAX: $329/mo, 8 users, $35/mo per added user ($299/mo billed annually)
  • HVAC, plumbing and electrical packages priced separately

What a Mobile Mechanic Gets Instead

Mobile Service Sync matches the parts Housecall Pro does well and adds the vehicle: plate to VIN lookup, each mechanic's stops ordered by drive time on the $49 first plan, an app that finishes jobs offline, stock counted per van, and fleet accounts with PO rules and net terms today.

The full side by side is on Mobile Service Sync's site: Mobile Service Sync vs Housecall Pro.

Questions About Housecall Pro

Is Housecall Pro good for mobile mechanics?
Housecall Pro has a good app, texting and service-area booking from $79 a month, but it is built for home service. Its pages describe no customer vehicle record, sequencing the day starts at $189, and offline mode is view only.
How much is Housecall Pro?
Basic is $79 a month for one user, Essentials $189 with five users and MAX $329 with eight users, with lower prices billed annually and $35 a month per added user on MAX. There is a 14-day trial with no card.

Sources